Rhode Island DUI Laws

/Rhode Island DUI Laws
Rhode Island DUI Laws 2018-03-03T16:10:20+00:00

AVAILABLE 24/7
FREE CONSULTATIONS

Rhode Island DUI Laws

Rhode Island treats a case of Driving under Influence (DUI) as a serious offense under the Rhode Island DUI Laws. The state has strict laws and penalties that are strictly based on blood and alcohol content (BAC) levels and age.

Any Rhode Island driver who drives a personal or commercial car after consuming alcohol or drugs or any other intoxicants is charged, and the state can even revoke his/her driving license. Just like any the other states in the United States, driving under the influence is the leading cause of vehicle accidents and accounts for up to 50% of the total number of car-related deaths every year.

What Are the DUI Regulations In Rhode Island?

Under the Rhode Island DUI laws, the BAC limit is set at 0.080% for adults who are above the legal age of driving. However, the BAC tolerance limit for drivers who are under the age of 21 years is set to 0.020%. However, the BAC tolerance limit for commercial drivers is set at 0.040%.

What Happens If You Refuse to Undertake the BAC test in Rhode Island?

Sometimes, a driver may refuse to take the BAC test, but that doesn’t mean that he/she won’t be charged with DUI. If you refuse to take the test, you’ll still be charged under the implied consent laws. The penalties for a first-time offender include:

  • Fines
  • Community service
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for up to six months
  • Alcohol treatment program
  • Highway safety evaluation fee of up to $500.00

What Are the Penalties for Refusing to Take a Chemical Test?

The penalties for a first-time offense for adults above the age of 18 years is:

  • Community service of between 10 and 60 hours
  • A fine of between $200.00 and $500.00
  • License suspension for at least six months but not exceeding one year

The penalties for first-time offenders under the age of 18 years include:

  • Community service of between 10 and 60 hours
  • A fine of between $200.00 and $500.00
  • License suspension for a period not exceeding six months

The penalty for second and subsequent offenses for refusing to take the BAC test include a mandatory ignition interlock device, higher fines, jail term, and among other serious penalties.

What Are the Penalties for DUI in Rhode Island?

Underage people, meaning those under the age of 21 years can be charged with underage Dui if their BAC level is beyond 0.020%. The penalties include:

  • License suspension for a period of between one and three months for first-time offense, and three to six months for a second or subsequent offense
  • A fine of between $200.00 and $500.00
  • Community service of between 10 and 60 hours
  • First-time offenders who are below 18 years old risk mandatory license suspension until they reach 21 years

For first time offenders who are above 21 years and their BAC level is between 0.080% and 0.10%, the penalties include:

  • Fines of between $100.00 and $300.00
  • License suspension of up to six months
  • Community service of up to 60 hours
  • A jail term of up to one year
  • A highway safety assessment fee of $500.00

Have you been charged with DUI in Rhode Island? An experienced attorney who understands the Rhode Island DUI laws can help you fight and win your case. Facing the case alone can be tricky and stressful. Contact Attorney Rory Munns today for a partner that you can trust or call now at 401-229-5544.